About UNIOS2020-02-17T11:23:42+01:00

Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek

The University of Osijek (official abbreviation: UNIOS) is nowadays developing into a modern European higher education institution. It acts as a regional center of knowledge, research and excellence.

It consists of:

11 Faculties (Faculty of Economics – EFOS, Faculty of Electrical Engineering – ETFOS, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences – FFOS, Faculty of Civil Engineering – GFOS, Faculty of Medicine – MEFOS, Faculty of Law – PRAVOS, Faculty of Agriculture – PFOS, Faculty of Food Technology – PTFOS, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in Slavonski Brod – SFSB, Faculty of Teacher Education – FOOZOS, Catholic Faculty of Theology in Đakovo – TEOS),

5 University departments (Department of Mathematics, Department of Biology, Department of Chemistry, Department of Physics, Department of Cultural Studies),

1 Academy of Arts

All UNIOS units are located in Osijek, except for the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, which is located in the city of Slavonski Brod, and the Catholic Faculty of Theology, which is located in the town of Đakovo.

UNIOS organizes studies at undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate level in the following fields: natural sciences, technical sciences, biomedicine and medicine, biotechnical sciences, social sciences, humanities and arts. There are also studies within interdisciplinary fields.

All University studies are organized according to Bologna principles and ECTS is fully implemented at all levels.

There are three more affiliated institutions of the University of Osijek that contribute to high quality of student life and studying:

  • the City and University Library in Osijek,
  • the Student Centre in Osijek,
  • the Student Centre in the city of Slavonski Brod, and
  • the Student Centre in the city of Đakovo.


Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek has started to participate in the LLP Erasmus programme in 2009 by publishing the

and applying for the Erasmus Standard University Charter and Erasmus Extended University Charter.


Since 2014, UNIOS is involved in ERASMUS+ program, by publishing the ECHE Charter application and Policy Statement and obtaining the new ECHE Charter: 255170-LA-1-2014-1-HR-E4AKA1-ECHE.

UNIOS Institutional Erasmus+ Factsheet can be viewed here.

UNIOS Erasmus cooperation is defined within the formal Erasmus bilateral agreements. The complete updated list of our partners and bilateral agreements can be viewed here – UNIOS Erasmus+Interinstitutional Agreements (update January 2017).

Kontakt podaci

SVEUČILIŠTE JOSIPA JURJA STROSSMAYERA U OSIJEKU Trg Svetog Trojstva 3 31000 Osijek Republika Hrvatska

Telefon: +385 31 224 102

Fax: +385 31 207 015


Najnovije objave